Equestrian Australia Hall of Fame 2012 Inductees Announced

Print this page    
Bill Roycroft Bill Roycroft
Paul Cargill, Chairman of Equestrian Australia today announced 2012 inductees into the Equestrian Hall of Fame, to be included at a gala awards ceremony on May 2. Mr Cargill also announced that Tom Luxtom, Alex Creswick and Jim Barnes would also be inducted to stand beside Samuel Horden as EA’s four ‘founding fathers’. This year’s inductees into the Equestrian Hall of Fame are:

Individual Award–Bill Roycroft

Bill Roycroft is one of five Australians to have competed in five Olympics…Rome (1960, where he was part of the gold medal winning eventing team), Tokyo (1964), Mexico (1968), Munich (1972) and Montreal (1976). Bill Roycroft died in May 2011 aged 96.

Team Award–1956 Olympic Eventing Team

Members Brian Crago, Wyatt Thompson, Ern Barker, David Wood, Franz Mairinger and Alec Creswick. Although the 1956 Olympics were held in Melbourne, Australia’s quarantine rules meant equestrian events were held in Stockholm. Despite the team having little experience in the lead-up to the games, they finished a credible fourth.

Brett Parbery and Victory Salute Brett Parbery and Victory Salute

Horse Award–Victory Salute

Victory Salute and Brett Parbery are record holders for the highest score achieved by an Australian horse and rider in international competition. They placed ninth in the Grand Prix Freestyle at the 2012 World Equestrian Games while Victory Salute represented Australia at the 2008 Paralymic Games with Georga Bruce, winning two bronze medals. Sadly, the talented Victory Salute was put down in November 2011 after battling laminitis.

Bob & Joyce Brook Bob & Joyce Brook

Service to Sport Award–Boy and Joyce Brook

Bob Brook was a respected showjumping administrator and course designer, National selector and Chairman of Jumping NSW. He was Chef d’Equipe for the successful jumping team that toured Europe in 1987. Bob and his wife Joyce built courses and judged jumping and eventing events well into their eighties. Bob passed away in November 2011.

Founding Fathers Award–Tom Loxton, Alec Creswick and Jim Barnes.

Equestrian Australia was founded in May 1951 by Samuel Holden, Tom Luxton, Alex Creswick and Jim Barnes.

Share |